Unreported / Non-Citable
Background
J.J., a 26-year-old with a history of severe childhood trauma, foster care, and multiple psychiatric diagnoses including PTSD, major depressive disorder, generalized anxiety disorder, and panic disorder, applied for SSI and Title II disability benefits in December 2021 alleging an onset date of April 1, 2019. After initial and reconsideration denials, ALJ David LaBarre held a hearing in August 2024 and issued an amended decision finding J.J. not disabled. The ALJ found J.J. had severe impairments but determined at step three they did not meet or equal a listing. At step four, the ALJ assessed an RFC allowing a full range of exertional work with nonexertional limitations: simple routine tasks, occasional superficial interactions with coworkers and the public, occasional interaction with supervisors, low-stress work with few changes, productivity judged at end of day, and ability to miss up to one day of work per month up to five times per year but not consistently. Based on this RFC, a vocational expert identified three jobs J.J. could perform. The Appeals Council denied review, making the ALJ's decision final.
The administrative record contained opinions from multiple treating providers. Therapist Kimally Samuels (July 2021–March 2022) described J.J. as having "crippling anxiety and depression" with severe difficulties in most areas of life including work and school. Psychiatrist Dr. Melanie Watkins (August 2021–January 2024) opined J.J. was unable to work full-time or live independently, detailing numerous functional limitations including fear of panic attacks, difficulty with hygiene, medication adherence, executive functioning, and maintaining a regular schedule. Therapist Marla Lane-Parks (weekly since March 2023) completed a Mental Impairment Questionnaire in July 2024 finding marked and extreme limitations in concentration, persistence, pace, and adaptation, opining J.J. would be off-task more than 30% of an 8-hour day and miss three days of work per month. J.J.'s foster mother Ashley Busby provided third-party function reports corroborating severe anxiety, panic attacks, inability to leave the house alone, and need for extensive workplace accommodations. The ALJ rejected Samuels' and Lane-Parks' opinions, crediting instead consultative examiner Dr. Tania Shertock (one-time evaluation, June 2022) and medical expert Dr. Ricardo Buitrago (hearing testimony).
The Court’s Holding
The court reversed the Commissioner's decision and remanded for an award of benefits under the credit-as-true rule. The Commissioner conceded the ALJ failed to provide legally sufficient reasons for rejecting the opinions of Samuels and Lane-Parks, satisfying the first prong of the credit-as-true test. The court found the second and third prongs satisfied: no outstanding issues required resolution, and the record as a whole left no doubt as to disability. The vocational expert testified that missing more than one day of work per month over five times per year, or being off-task 10% or more of the workday, would preclude all work. Lane-Parks' opinions—supported by Samuels, Dr. Watkins, Porter, and Busby—established both limitations: J.J. would miss more than three days per month and be off-task over 30% of the day.
The court rejected the Commissioner's arguments that conflicting evidence created serious doubt. Dr. Shertock's opinions actually echoed treating providers' findings of significant social impairment, limited insight and judgment, and moderate impairment in maintaining pace, persistence, and completing a normal workweek; her own report cautioned that her findings should be verified against treatment records, which showed greater severity. Dr. Buitrago's opinions were unreliable: he had only six months of treatment records, missed 30 minutes of hearing testimony due to a dropped call, and incorrectly testified J.J. had a 12-month treatment gap when records showed continuous therapy. J.J.'s TikTok activity and part-time work at a dog kennel and gym did not contradict disability: the kennel job required extensive accommodations (short shifts, never working alone, bringing a support dog), and the gym job lasted less than two months before J.J. was fired for leaving early due to anxiety and failing to complete duties. The court concluded remand for further proceedings would only delay benefits.
Key Takeaways
- The credit-as-true rule applies when the ALJ fails to provide legally sufficient reasons for rejecting medical opinions, no essential factual issues remain, and the record as a whole establishes disability.
- A vocational expert's testimony that specific limitations (missing >1 day/month or >10% off-task) preclude all work, combined with treating provider opinions supporting those limitations, can satisfy the third prong of the credit-as-true test.
- Consultative examiner opinions that are internally inconsistent, based on a one-time evaluation without review of treatment records, and contradicted by longitudinal treating sources do not create a genuine conflict requiring further proceedings.
- Medical expert testimony based on incomplete records and factual errors (e.g., missing treatment periods) is not substantial evidence.
- Part-time work performed with extraordinary accommodations and ending in termination due to impairment-related limitations does not constitute substantial gainful activity or contradict a finding of disability.
Why It Matters
This decision reinforces the Ninth Circuit's credit-as-true framework in Social Security cases, clarifying that when the Commissioner concedes ALJ error in rejecting treating source opinions, the court must assess whether the remaining record—including vocational expert testimony—compels a finding of disability without further remand. The court's detailed comparison of treating provider opinions with consultative and medical expert opinions demonstrates how longitudinal, consistent treatment records can outweigh one-time evaluations and expert testimony based on incomplete records. The ruling also underscores that minimal part-time work with extensive accommodations does not negate disability where the claimant cannot sustain full-time attendance or pace.